jk2ffa.freeforums.org

JKII 1.02 FFA Community
It is currently Sun Apr 23, 2017 3:54 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Welcome
Welcome to jk2ffa

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 11:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:57 am
Posts: 45
I'm in contact with the guy behind this demo editing tool for JA, called jaMME. It's basically a better version of pugmod, and a lot better than Nerevar's cam mod.

Some features are rewinding demos as you like, real motion blur, syncing editing with audio files in game and generally incredible looking end results with simple usage.
He's working on versions for JK2 as well, and he's willing to try to compile it for 1.02. But he's unable to compile jk2mp.

So we need help and info on how to compile jk2mp (QVMs and DLLs are not interesting, neither are winded or botlib projects, he says), in VS 2010.

I know people have made code mods here. Any experience with compiling jk2mp?


Here's some things we could expect:
http://1337.xfire.com/video/61b4df/
http://1337.xfire.com/video/611844/


Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 3:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 3:14 am
Posts: 1112
We talked about that here a bit: jedi-knight-2-jedi-outcast-source-spoiler-released-t473.html


Tr!Force wrote:
guys, just copy the old batch used in the normal jk2 sdk, and will compile fine.

i got jk2 1.02 qvms working 100%

PD: obiously the batch calls main compilers, remember to copy the folder with the compilers (icc, cpp, q3asm, etc....)


PS. Project sounds awesome :D

Here some jk2 1.02 batches for compiling - not sure if that's what helps you (it's from Nere's Cam Mod, not sure whether its modified - I don't think so)


cgame.bat

Spoiler:
@set include=
@set savedpath=%path%
@set path=%path%;..\..\..\bin

del /q vm
if not exist vm\nul mkdir vm
cd vm
set cc=..\..\..\bin\lcc -DQ3_VM -DMISSIONPACK -DCGAME -S -Wf-target=bytespoiler -Wf-g -I..\..\cgame -I..\..\game -I..\..\ui %1

%cc% ../../game/bg_misc.c

%cc% ../../game/bg_weapons.c

%cc% ../../game/bg_panimate.c

%cc% ../../game/bg_pmove.c

%cc% ../../game/bg_slidemove.c

%cc% ../../game/bg_lib.c

%cc% ../../game/bg_saber.c

%cc% ../../game/q_math.c

%cc% ../../game/q_shared.c

%cc% ../cg_consolecmds.c

%cc% ../cg_draw.c

%cc% ../cg_drawtools.c

%cc% ../cg_effects.c

%cc% ../cg_ents.c

%cc% ../cg_event.c

%cc% ../cg_info.c

%cc% ../cg_light.c

%cc% ../cg_localents.c

%cc% ../cg_main.c

%cc% ../cg_marks.c

%cc% ../cg_players.c

%cc% ../cg_playerstate.c

%cc% ../cg_predict.c

%cc% ../cg_saga.c

%cc% ../cg_scoreboard.c

%cc% ../cg_servercmds.c

%cc% ../cg_snapshot.c

%cc% ../cg_turret.c

%cc% ../cg_view.c

%cc% ../cg_weaponinit.c

%cc% ../cg_weapons.c

%cc% ../cam_shared.c
%cc% ../cam_main.c

%cc% ../fx_blaster.c

%cc% ../fx_bowcaster.c

%cc% ../fx_bryarpistol.c

%cc% ../fx_demp2.c

%cc% ../fx_disruptor.c

%cc% ../fx_flechette.c

%cc% ../fx_heavyrepeater.c

%cc% ../fx_rocketlauncher.c

%cc% ../fx_force.c

%cc% ../../ui/ui_shared.c

%cc% ../cg_newDraw.c


..\..\..\bin\q3asm -f ../cgame


:quit
@set path=%savedpath%
@set savedpath=

cd ..


game.bat

Spoiler:
@set include=
@set savedpath=%path%
@set path=%path%;..\..\..\bin

del /q vm
if not exist vm\nul mkdir vm
cd vm
set cc=..\..\..\bin\lcc -A -DQ3_VM -DMISSIONPACK -S -Wf-target=bytespoiler -Wf-g -I..\..\cgame -I..\..\game -I..\..\ui %1

%cc% ../g_main.c


%cc% ../g_syscalls.c


%cc% ../bg_misc.c

%cc% ../bg_lib.c

%cc% ../bg_pmove.c

%cc% ../bg_saber.c

%cc% ../bg_slidemove.c

%cc% ../bg_panimate.c

%cc% ../bg_weapons.c

%cc% ../q_math.c

%cc% ../q_shared.c


%cc% ../ai_main.c

%cc% ../ai_util.c

%cc% ../ai_wpnav.c


%cc% ../g_active.c


%cc% ../g_arenas.c

%cc% ../g_bot.c

%cc% ../g_client.c

%cc% ../g_cmds.c

%cc% ../g_combat.c

%cc% ../g_items.c

%cc% ../g_log.c

%cc% ../g_mem.c

%cc% ../g_misc.c

%cc% ../g_missile.c

%cc% ../g_mover.c

%cc% ../g_object.c

%cc% ../g_saga.c

%cc% ../g_session.c

%cc% ../g_spawn.c

%cc% ../g_svcmds.c

%cc% ../g_target.c

%cc% ../g_team.c

%cc% ../g_trigger.c

%cc% ../g_utils.c

%cc% ../g_weapon.c

%cc% ../w_force.c

%cc% ../w_saber.c


..\..\..\bin\q3asm -f ../game


:quit
@set path=%savedpath%
@set savedpath=

cd ..


ui.bat

Spoiler:
@set include=
@set savedpath=%path%
@set path=%path%;..\..\..\bin

del /q vm
if not exist vm\nul mkdir vm
cd vm

set cc=..\..\..\bin\lcc -DQ3_VM -S -Wf-target=bytespoiler -Wf-g -I..\..\cgame -I..\..\game -I..\..\ui %1

%cc% ../ui_main.c
%cc% ../../game/bg_misc.c
%cc% ../../game/bg_weapons.c
%cc% ../../game/bg_lib.c
%cc% ../../game/q_math.c
%cc% ../../game/q_shared.c
%cc% ../msg.c
%cc% ../../cgame/cam_shared.c
%cc% ../uicam_main.c
%cc% ../ui_atoms.c
%cc% ../ui_force.c
%cc% ../ui_shared.c
%cc% ../ui_gameinfo.c

..\..\..\bin\q3asm -f ../ui

:quit
@set path=%savedpath%
@set savedpath=

cd ..


Attachments:
ui.bat [623 Bytes]
Downloaded 33 times
game.bat [1.25 KiB]
Downloaded 32 times
cgame.bat [1.48 KiB]
Downloaded 38 times

_________________
Spoiler:
ImageImageImage
Like my Father Before Me, I am An Assassin. http://youtu.be/JbldtyLgkEA
ImageImageImage
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:56 pm
Posts: 48
So I could compile jk2mp.exe, it's 1.04, and I will make it support 1.02 demos, don't worry. Also it will use dlls instead of qvms, because they are more accurate.

Unfortunately the game crashes sometimes, but I am on the way to fix that. Tested some things on a local server and it seems everything is ok.

Do you play on specific server mods which require specific client mods or with base client? If your server mod requires certain client mod then I'd need to look at its code to save compatibility. Else it will be able to only play base demos.

If you have questions you can always find me on #jacoders channel at irc.arloria.net network: http://www.arloria.net/tiramisu/tiramisu.swf?channels=#jacoders


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 4:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:56 pm
Posts: 48
Okay. I made it compile on both Release and Debug. No errors, tho it requires proper start settings.
The clean JO 1.04 is here: https://github.com/entdark/jk2mp

It can compile jk2mp.exe, jk2Ded.exe, cgamex86.dll, uix86.dll, jk2mpgamex86.dll.
Do whatever you want with it. But I will start my MME mod based on that source which will support 1.02 demos, at least I will try to do my best to make it support.

And remember to not trust a bartender with a bad grammar.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:56 pm
Posts: 48
Good news. I made it work. All general features work.
Here is my branch: https://github.com/entdark/jk2mp/tree/joMME

I need your help. Tell me about the difference between 1.02 and 1.04. What was deleted, what was added, what was changed.
With code examples if possible.
Because currently it can only plays 1.04 demos, and when it's trying to open 1.02 ones then the game crashes (on reading demo message in MSG_ReadDeltaEntity if to be exact).

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:33 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 3:14 am
Posts: 1112
Not sure if you haven't noticed but there are different demo protocols
1.02 = dm_15
1.04 = dm_16

_________________
Spoiler:
ImageImageImage
Like my Father Before Me, I am An Assassin. http://youtu.be/JbldtyLgkEA
ImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 3:54 pm
Posts: 220
[quote="ent"]Good news. I made it work. All general features work.
Here is my branch: https://github.com/entdark/jk2mp/tree/joMME

I need your help. Tell me about the difference between 1.02 and 1.04. What was deleted, what was added, what was changed.
With code examples if possible.
Because currently it can only plays 1.04 demos, and when it's trying to open 1.02 ones then the game crashes (on reading demo message in MSG_ReadDeltaEntity if to be exact).

Thanks in advance.


not to be a **** or anything but i honestly think it would be easier to restart the project from scratch with the 1.02 code, since the entire saber combat system and what not is different in 1.02. (and i hate saying this, but 1.04 is practically dead, which means your 1.04 mod likely would go to waste and nearly nobody would use it because most (serious, anyway) jk2 players play 1.02). on the other hand, 1.02 is much more active in both ffa and ctf gametypes, and both scenes have a good portion of movie/render makers, and i'm sure these would love your mod. but maybe the code that differs from 1.04->1.02 can be ported easily by you, i've no idea about that, but the difference between the versions is kinda big, know that.

anyway I hope this didnt let you down or anything, i hope to see this mod and it'll be greatly appreciated and I can't wait to try it.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:07 pm
Posts: 117
1.04 comunity is quite active in ctf last months since jk3 players like ent came from jka to 1.04, I just say

_________________
Cheers, Okiba


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 2:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:32 pm
Posts: 127
[quote="le01l"]
not to be a **** or anything but i honestly think it would be easier to restart the project from scratch with the 1.02 code, since the entire saber combat system and what not is different in 1.02. (and i hate saying this, but 1.04 is practically dead, which means your 1.04 mod likely would go to waste and nearly nobody would use it because most (serious, anyway) jk2 players play 1.02). on the other hand, 1.02 is much more active in both ffa and ctf gametypes, and both scenes have a good portion of movie/render makers, and i'm sure these would love your mod. but maybe the code that differs from 1.04->1.02 can be ported easily by you, i've no idea about that, but the difference between the versions is kinda big, know that.

anyway I hope this didnt let you down or anything, i hope to see this mod and it'll be greatly appreciated and I can't wait to try it.

I could not not agree more with all of what you say for once! :D 1.04 is not fully dead, though it is indeed way less active than 1.02 in these days :) And I would recommend you to port the mod using the 1.02 sourcecode too, since for the most part, there is not really any problems porting stuff over :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 2:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:07 pm
Posts: 117
Yeah thats true thou, porting it to 1.04 is a bit useless :>

_________________
Cheers, Okiba


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 10:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:56 pm
Posts: 48
Fortunately, there is no difference in networking, and few changes in packets (in entity and player states offsets), so it does not seem to be very hard to make it work.

The MME enhanced demo player converts demos to its own format (*.mme) and then plays them. I added yesterday some conditions so it can now convert dm_15 demos too.
And also, fortunately, it could even open a demo, but could not play, so it freezed in the first frame: http://i.imgur.com/YNTTIDJ.jpg

I don't see a point to start with 1.02 source. Plus it was a torture to compile at least 1.04 and I bet compiling 1.02 would be even worse.

Does it matter what engine you use to play demos? 1.02 or 1.04? The mod is just a demo player with moviemaking features.

Oh and if you guys are interested then the all changes could be found there: https://github.com/jedis/jedioutcast/commits/master


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 10:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:56 pm
Posts: 48
Wow, I can't believe it worked!
Demo is playing well, but missing some animations, and shows assertions error often.
Look:
http://i.imgur.com/zX993Wy.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/wIpx1FO.jpg

It's from 1.02. :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 10:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 3:54 pm
Posts: 220
GG ent, great job. keep it up :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 11:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:57 am
Posts: 45
Great work! Suupa duupa excited.
I guess it's possible some animations have changed between the versions? I think 1.04 has JKA's sabering system more or less.
I just hope using the 1.04 engine to play 1.02 demos doesn't make it unstable with the major differences in the gameplay.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 1:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:56 pm
Posts: 48
Who wants to test?
Here is 0.3 version: http://www.speedyshare.com/CKBDj/download/jomme.zip
Tell me about all the bugs that you can notice, please.
How to use: http://jkhub.org/forum/76-tutorials/

UPD:
dm_15 demos could be open through /demo demoname for now.

UPD2:
you will probably need to have a patched version (aka add assets2.pk3 and assets5.pk3 to base?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 1:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 3:54 pm
Posts: 220
I've tried your jomme on version 1.04 with 1.02 demos, but the game crashes at the end of the loading screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 1:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:56 pm
Posts: 48
Could you send those demos?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 3:54 pm
Posts: 220
ent wrote:
Could you send those demos?

Sent you a pm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:56 pm
Posts: 48
Hello. Seems like I made it fully compatible. :)
Download joMME 0.8: http://www.speedyshare.com/NZcQr/download/joMME-0.8.zip

Since I am not a jk2er I may not notice some bugs, so tell me if you find some, please.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:57 am
Posts: 45
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is this supposed to be loaded using 1.04? It crashes after loading the demo on 1.02 at least.

Edit: Also crashing after loading the demo using 1.04, with both 1.02 and 1.04 demos.

Edit #2: Managed to load one demo in 1.02, and it worked, but it crashed after a little bit.

Edit #3: Some demos work fine and don't crash.

I'll make another post where I list every bug and issue I can find :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:57 am
Posts: 45
Boothand's current bug list:


- Some demos crash after loading, some work fine.
- Some demos work fine, then crash.
- Little difference in player names. My name shows up as ^/Boothand, instead of Boothand in white color. Names seem to work fine otherwise.
- Squares of "missing texture" displayed on a line across the screen in NF and CTF demos.
- Spike when someone connects.
- Some occasional fast "shakes" in the player animation when playing at "speed 0.1".


Last edited by Gnur on Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:27 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:56 pm
Posts: 48
Can you send the demos that crash? Also do not forget you have to have patched version (add assets2.pk3 and assets5.pk3)

UPD: you can put those assets to mme folder to not break compatibility, and do not foget to start the mod with start_joMME.cmd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to compile jk2mp 1.02?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 10:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:57 am
Posts: 45
Actually there was no difference using the patched pk3s. The problems I mentioned are there with the extra assets added also. It seems the patched pk3s might not be required though.

Most of the demos work perfectly, but here's the ones that crashed: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/587 ... ydemos.zip

One of them, named "ctf1" (which isn't ctf haha) doesn't crash, but I included it to show a visual bug. It's a bunch of missing texture empty squares across the screen. Also you'll see some names using certain color codes are messed up.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Donate Now
Donate Now


Hosted by © 2017 FreeForums.org | Create a free forum | Powered by phpBB
About FreeForums | Legal | Advertise Here | Investors | Contact FreeForums.org
Report Violation
suspicion-preferred